From Harry Reid International Airport, a taxi to a Strip hotel is a flat state-set fare of $22.25, $26.25 or $30.25 depending on the hotel's zone, plus $3 if you pay by card. The Las Vegas Monorail runs about 4 miles along the east side of the Strip, from MGM Grand to SAHARA, and never reaches the airport or Downtown. Mandalay Bay to the STRAT is about 4.3 miles on the sidewalk, about 1 hour 20 minutes of walking. For the west-side resorts and Fremont Street, take the Deuce bus, which runs 24 hours and costs $8 for a day.
Las Vegas getting-around basics
- Airport
- Harry Reid International (LAS), Terminals 1 and 3
- Taxi to the Strip
- $22.25 / $26.25 / $30.25 flat by zone; +$3 by card, +3% tax
- Monorail
- 7 east-side stations, MGM Grand to SAHARA; $5.75 eTicket, $6.25 at the station
- Deuce bus
- 24 hours, Strip and Downtown; $6 for 2 hours, $8 for 24, $20 for 3 days
- Walking the whole Strip
- About 4.3 miles, about 1 hour 20 minutes, Mandalay Bay to the STRAT
- Resort parking
- $20 a day for hotel guests at MGM, Caesars Palace and Venetian; valet $40 to $50
- Time zone
- Pacific. Arizona is 1 hour ahead Nov 1, 2026 to Mar 14, 2027
Fares from the Nevada Taxicab Authority, the Las Vegas Monorail and RTC; airport details from harryreidairport.com; parking from each resort company's own page. Checked October 17, 2026.
Getting from the airport to the Strip
Harry Reid International Airport (code LAS) has two passenger terminals. Terminal 1 has Allegiant, American, Delta, Southwest and Sun Country; United, Alaska, JetBlue, Frontier, Hawaiian and the international airlines use Terminal 3. Check your boarding pass; airlines move.
Taxi fares from the airport
Las Vegas taxis are regulated by the Nevada Taxicab Authority, a state agency, and trips between the airport and Strip hotels are charged a flat fare by zone instead of by the meter. The current fares took effect at 2am on April 9, 2026, under a Taxicab Authority order that added a fuel surcharge.
| Zone | Area | Flat fare | Hotels include |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zone 1 | Sunset Rd north to Tropicana Ave | $22.25 | Mandalay Bay, Four Seasons, Luxor, Excalibur, MGM Grand, Virgin Hotel, W Las Vegas |
| Zone 2 | Tropicana Ave north to Flamingo Rd | $26.25 | New York-New York, Park MGM, Aria, Vdara, Cosmopolitan, Bellagio, Planet Hollywood, Paris, Horseshoe (formerly Bally's), The Signature |
| Zone 3 | Flamingo Rd north to the STRAT | $30.25 | Caesars Palace, Flamingo, The LINQ, Harrah's, Venetian, Palazzo, Treasure Island, Wynn, Encore, Resorts World, Fontainebleau, Circus Circus, Sahara, the STRAT, LVCC hotels |
Tier 1 fares from the Nevada Taxicab Authority's zone sheet ("Revised 7-26") and fare page, checked October 17, 2026. Add $3.00 for a credit or debit card and 3% excise tax on all rates and fees. The fuel surcharge tier can change with gas prices.
The airport's own taxi page still links an older flat-rate sheet, "revised 8-5-24," that shows $21, $25 and $29. The April 2026 order replaced it. The $19, $23 and $27 in older guides predate both.
The Taxicab Authority's zone FAQ says the fare is the same in both directions and covers a direct trip only; a stop on the way puts the ride on the meter. The driver may take "the most direct route between a zone and the airport including the freeway or surface streets," so the tunnel and I-215 are allowed, and on a zone trip the route can't change the price. A $2.40 airport pickup fee is also listed, without saying whether it's inside the zone price, so a card-paid ride to Bellagio is at least $29.25 before the 3% tax.
Taxi stands are outside exit doors 1 to 4 at Terminal 1 and near door 52 on Level Zero at Terminal 3. Long-hauling is illegal under NRS 706.8846; complaints go to the Taxicab Authority at 702-668-4005 with the cab number.
Uber, Lyft and the bus
Uber and Lyft pick up in the parking garages, not at the curb: Level 2 of the garage at Terminal 1, the Valet Level at Terminal 3. Your app shows the fare before you book. Don't assume your hotel runs a free airport shuttle; Wynn, for one, says it doesn't.
The public bus stop is at Terminal 1 only, on Level Zero, so Terminal 3 arrivals first take the free inter-terminal shuttle, which runs about every 20 to 30 minutes. Two routes stop there, Route 108 on Paradise Road and the Red Line (the airport notes it was "previously known as Route 109"), and neither runs on Las Vegas Boulevard. Reaching a Strip hotel by bus means changing to the Deuce, and the cheap residential passes are valid on the Strip routes only with a local ID, so visitors need a Strip-tier pass for the second bus.
Unless you're traveling light with time to spare, I'd take the taxi.
Getting around the Strip
What each option costs, from each operator's own fare page:
| Option | At the station / standard | Online eTicket | Covers |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monorail, one ride | $6.25 | $5.75 | East side of the Strip, MGM Grand to SAHARA |
| Monorail, 24 hours | $15.50 | $13.95 | |
| Monorail, 2 days | $27 | $24.45 | |
| Monorail, 3 days | $33 | $30.85 | |
| Monorail, 7 days | $64 | $59.95 | |
| Deuce bus, 2 hours | $6 | n/a | Whole Strip, both sides, plus Downtown and Fremont Street, 24 hours |
| Deuce bus, 24 hours | $8 | n/a | |
| Deuce bus, 3 days | $20 | n/a | |
| Taxi on the meter | $5.50 + $3.15/mile | n/a | Anywhere; airport trips use the flat zone fares above |
Monorail fares from lvmonorail.com (4-day $40 / $38.10 and 5-day $48.25 / $45.85 not shown). Deuce fares are RTC's Strip and Downtown tier. Taxi meter rate from the Taxicab Authority's April 2026 order. Checked October 17, 2026.
For three days, the Deuce's $20 pass is cheaper than the Monorail's $30.85 eTicket and reaches the west side and Downtown, which the Monorail doesn't.
The Strip is longer than it looks
These times are measured on the Las Vegas Boulevard sidewalk in front of each resort, using pedestrian routing at about 3.2 mph, so they include the bridges and detours. Getting from your room out to the Boulevard adds more, often 5 to 10 minutes at the big resorts.
| From | To | Walk | Time | Straight line |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mandalay Bay | Luxor | 0.33 mi | about 6 min | 0.29 mi |
| Excalibur | MGM Grand | 0.34 mi | about 7 min | 0.28 mi |
| Park MGM | Bellagio | 0.58 mi | about 11 min | 0.55 mi |
| MGM Grand | Bellagio | 0.89 mi | about 17 min | 0.72 mi |
| Bellagio | Caesars PalacePedestrian bridge over Flamingo Rd nearly doubles it | 0.46 mi | about 9 min | 0.24 mi |
| Caesars Palace | LINQ Promenade | 0.22 mi | about 4 min | 0.17 mi |
| Bellagio | Venetian | 0.82 mi | about 16 min | 0.64 mi |
| Venetian | WynnHalf again the straight-line distance | 0.59 mi | about 11 min | 0.40 mi |
| Mandalay Bay | Bellagio | 1.57 mi | about 30 min | 1.49 mi |
| MGM Grand | Venetian | 1.72 mi | about 33 min | 1.33 mi |
| Wynn | Sahara | 1.26 mi | about 24 min | 1.12 mi |
| Mandalay Bay | Wynn | 2.83 mi | about 54 min | 2.49 mi |
| Mandalay Bay | The STRAT (whole Strip) | 4.32 mi | about 82 min | 3.97 mi |
| The STRAT | Fremont Street Experience | 1.90 mi | about 36 min | 1.81 mi |
Valhalla pedestrian routing on OpenStreetMap, run October 17, 2026, sidewalk point to sidewalk point. Real times run longer with bridge stairs, escalators, heat and crowds.
At the big intersections you go up and over on pedestrian bridges, so Bellagio to Caesars Palace, a 0.24-mile gap on the map, is a 0.46-mile walk. Downtown is a ride, not a walk: the STRAT to the Fremont Street Experience is 1.9 miles with little to stop for.
Walk between neighbors. I'd ride anything over about 20 minutes on the table above, especially in party shoes.
The Deuce bus
The Deuce is RTC's 24-hour route along Las Vegas Boulevard, from the Fremont Street Experience past the STRAT and every big resort to Mandalay Bay, then on to the Welcome to Las Vegas sign and the South Premium Outlets (per RTC's 2024 stop map). Visitors pay the Strip tier: $6 for 2 hours, $8 for 24 hours, $20 for 3 days. Buy passes on the rideRTC app or at ticket machines; drivers can't make change. The SDX express that older guides list was cut in 2020. Expect special schedules during Formula 1 race week.
The Las Vegas Monorail
The Monorail runs about 4 miles along the east side of the Strip, with seven stations from south to north:
- MGM Grand
- Horseshoe / Paris (formerly Bally's / Paris)
- Flamingo / Caesars Palace
- Harrah's / The LINQ
- Boingo Station at the Las Vegas Convention Center
- Westgate
- SAHARA Las Vegas
Trains run every 4 to 8 minutes. The southern end is MGM Grand, not Mandalay Bay, and there's no station on the west side of the Boulevard: for Bellagio, Caesars Palace, Venetian or Wynn you walk from the nearest east-side station, then cross the Strip.
| Day | First train | Closes |
|---|---|---|
| Monday | 7am | Midnight |
| Tuesday to Thursday | 7am | 2am |
| Friday to Sunday | 7am | 3am |
Regular hours from lvmonorail.com, checked October 17, 2026.
During Formula 1 race week the Monorail runs nonstop, from 7am Tuesday, November 17, 2026 to 3am Monday, November 23. It closes early at midnight on October 29, 2026 and on various nights between November 29 and December 15, so check the ticket-page notice before counting on a late train.
The cheaper fares are mobile eTickets only, bought at tix.lvmonorail.com. Multi-day passes start at your first fare gate, and each "day" is 24 hours, so a pass first used at 8pm is good until 8pm the next day. Children 5 and under ride free with a paying adult, and every station has elevators and level boarding.
The Monorail is worth it if your hotel is on the east side (MGM Grand, Horseshoe, Paris, Flamingo, The LINQ, Harrah's, Westgate, SAHARA) or you're going to the convention center. From Bellagio, Cosmopolitan or Wynn, the walk to the station eats most of the time it saves.
Renting a car and paying to park
Rental cars are at the Rent-A-Car Center, 7135 Gilespie Street, about three miles south of the airport, by shuttle bus. Through the end of December 2026, allow extra time: since August 10, 2026, the Airport Connector tunnels the shuttles use have been cut to two lanes from 5am to midnight and one lane overnight, Sunday to Friday, and the airport warns to "expect delays to and from the Rent-A-Car Center."
Published daily parking rates are below; for resort fees on top, see where to stay in Las Vegas.
| Resort | Self-park, not staying | Self-park, hotel guests | Valet |
|---|---|---|---|
| MGM Resorts (Bellagio, Aria, Cosmopolitan, MGM Grand, Mandalay Bay, Luxor, Excalibur and others) | $20/day Mon to Thu; $25/day Fri to Sun | $20 per 24 h, any day | $40/day |
| Caesars Palace | $25/day | $20/day | $50/day |
| Paris, Horseshoe, Flamingo, Harrah's, The LINQ (Caesars) | $20/day Mon to Wed; $25/day Thu to Sun | $20/day where listed | $40/day |
| Planet Hollywood (Caesars) | First hour free; Mon to Thu $18 for 1 to 3 h, $20 for 3 to 24 h; Fri to Sun $25/day | $20/day | $40 |
| Venetian and Palazzo | $20/day Mon to Thu; $25/day Fri to Sun | $20/day | $40/day |
| Wynn and Encore | $25/day, first 3 hours free | Free | $40/day |
| Resorts World | $21 per 24 hours | Pass through the resort's app (cost not stated) | From $40 |
| Treasure Island | Not stated | Free (self-park and valet) | Free for hotel guests |
From mgmresorts.com (parking page dated December 18, 2024), caesars.com, wynnlasvegas.com, venetianlasvegas.com, rwlasvegas.com and treasureisland.com, checked October 17, 2026. Rates rise for special events, such as Sphere headliner nights at the Venetian.
Caesars valet charges start the moment you hand over the keys, and valet tips are cash only. Caesars Rewards Platinum and MGM Rewards Pearl members and above park free at their company's resorts.
If you'll spend most of the trip on the Strip, I'd skip the car. Four nights of hotel-guest self-parking at $20 is $80, more than a Zone 2 taxi from the airport and back ($52.50 before the card fee and tax). Rent one for the days you leave town: Red Rock Canyon's scenic drive is about 35 minutes from the center Strip and Hoover Dam about 45, and the day trips guide covers tours if you'd rather not drive.
Check rates and availability
Compare Las Vegas hotels on Expedia for your dates; rates move a lot from month to month.
Expedia's total should include the resort fee; the 13.38% Strip room tax can still be added at checkout.
Affiliate link. If you book through it we earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it never changes what we recommend.
Rules first-timers trip on
Under 21 on the casino floor
Nevada's gaming law, NRS 463.350, says anyone under 21 may not gamble, and may not "loiter, or be permitted to loiter," in the room where licensed games are played. It's a misdemeanor for the minor and for the casino. The word that matters is loiter. Families walk through casinos to reach restaurants, shows and elevators; what a child can't do is stop at a slot machine or stand behind you at the blackjack table.
Smoking and cannabis
Nevada bans smoking in indoor workplaces, restaurants and malls, but NRS 202.2483 exempts the casino areas where minors are barred from loitering, which is the same gaming floor families walk through to dinner. Cannabis is a different rule: using it in a public place, in a dispensary or in a vehicle is a misdemeanor under NRS 678D.310, with a fine of up to $600, unless you're in a licensed consumption lounge.
Drinks on the Strip
Plastic cups and cans on the Boulevard are normal. Glass is the catch. Clark County bans pedestrians from carrying any glass drink container, alcoholic or not, on Las Vegas Boulevard between Russell Road and Sahara Avenue (County Code chapter 12.43, as reported in local press). Downtown and Fremont Street are in the City of Las Vegas, which has its own rules.
Nightclub dress codes
Each club sets its own door policy. OMNIA at Caesars Palace is strictly 21 and over and says "sports attire, athleisure / casual loungewear, and swimwear are not permitted"; it won't check backpacks or large bags. XS at Wynn requires business casual: dressy jeans and well-kept sneakers pass, but tank tops, athletic wear including hats and sweatpants, sandals, work boots and torn or baggy clothing don't. XS also bars outside drinks, water bottles included. At Wynn's venues, bottle service adds 8.375% tax, a 15% venue fee and a 15% gratuity, so know that before you agree to a minimum.
Time zones and the Arizona clock
Las Vegas is on Pacific Time and observes daylight saving time. In 2026 it ends at 2am on Sunday, November 1, and it starts again on Sunday, March 14, 2027. Arizona doesn't observe daylight saving (the Navajo Nation is the exception), and most big day trips from Las Vegas cross into Arizona.
| Dates | Las Vegas | Grand Canyon, Hoover Dam (AZ side), Page |
|---|---|---|
| Through Oct 31, 2026 | Pacific Daylight Time | Same time as Las Vegas |
| Nov 1, 2026 to Mar 13, 2027 | Pacific Standard Time | One hour ahead of Las Vegas |
| From Mar 14, 2027 | Pacific Daylight Time | Same time as Las Vegas |
Daylight saving dates from NIST. Arizona's rule applies to Grand Canyon West, the South Rim, Willow Beach and Page.
In winter, a 4pm tour slot at Antelope Canyon is 3pm on your Las Vegas phone. Antelope Canyon operators run on Arizona time, not Navajo time; the trap is your phone jumping to a Navajo or Utah tower near Page. The Grand Canyon tours guide and the Antelope Canyon guide cover each trip.
Your first night
For a short first evening, the High Roller observation wheel is at The LINQ, which has its own Monorail stop (Harrah's/The LINQ), and the Strip helicopter night flight leaves from the Maverick terminal at the airport you just came through.
Easy first-night bookings
- Check availability on GetYourGuide →
The High Roller at The LINQ Ticket
★ 4.6 (5,382 reviews) · from $22
Ticket stays valid for 3 days from the date you pick, so a late flight doesn't waste it. Closed to entry November 19 to 21, 2026.
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
High Roller Wheel - Happy Half Hour with Open Bar
★ 4.7 (1,533 reviews) · 30 minutes · from $46
Same wheel with an open bar in the cabin for 30 minutes; 21 and over, so bring photo ID.
Read our full review - Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Helicopter Night Flight over the Strip
★ 4.7 (2,011 reviews) · 11 minutes · from $99
The Strip from above after dark, with pilot commentary. No hotel pickup; reconfirm 72 hours ahead.
Read our full review
Booking through these links supports this guide at no extra cost to you.
If you land after dark
Take a taxi from the rank, check that the fare matches your hotel's zone, and pay cash if you want to skip the $3 card fee. Then walk to the nearest neighbor resort for dinner, and leave the Monorail and the Deuce for the morning, when you know which side of the Strip you're on.
Common questions
Does the Las Vegas Monorail go to the airport?
No. The Monorail has seven stations, all on the east side of the Strip, from MGM Grand in the south to SAHARA Las Vegas in the north. It does not reach Harry Reid International Airport or Downtown and Fremont Street. From the airport, take a taxi or a rideshare to your hotel.
How much is a taxi from the Las Vegas airport to the Strip?
Taxis from Harry Reid airport to Strip hotels charge a flat zone fare: $22.25 to Zone 1 (Mandalay Bay to MGM Grand), $26.25 to Zone 2 (New York-New York to Horseshoe and Paris) and $30.25 to Zone 3 (Caesars Palace to the STRAT). Those fares took effect April 9, 2026 and apply in both directions. Paying by card adds $3.00, and a 3% excise tax applies to all rates and fees.
Is Las Vegas walkable?
Between neighboring resorts, yes. Measured on the sidewalk, Mandalay Bay to the STRAT is about 4.3 miles, about 1 hour 20 minutes of walking before any time inside the resorts. Crossings use pedestrian bridges, so Bellagio to Caesars Palace is 0.46 miles for a 0.24-mile gap.
How much does the Las Vegas Monorail cost?
A single ride is $6.25 from a station machine or $5.75 as a mobile eTicket. A 24-hour pass is $15.50 at the station or $13.95 online, and a 3-day pass is $33 or $30.85. The lower prices are only for mobile eTickets bought through the Monorail's own site.
Can under-21s walk through a Las Vegas casino?
Yes, to get somewhere. Nevada law (NRS 463.350) bars anyone under 21 from gambling and from loitering where games are played, so families walk through to restaurants and shows but children can't stop at the tables or slots.
Is Las Vegas on the same time as the Grand Canyon?
Only part of the year. Las Vegas is on Pacific Time and observes daylight saving time; Arizona, apart from the Navajo Nation, does not. From November 1, 2026 to March 14, 2027, Grand Canyon West, the South Rim and the Arizona side of Hoover Dam are one hour ahead of Las Vegas. From March 14 to early November the clocks match.
Do I need a rental car in Las Vegas?
Not for a Strip-only trip. Hotel guests pay $20 a day to self-park at MGM resorts, Caesars Palace and the Venetian, and valet is $40 to $50. A car is useful for day trips: Red Rock Canyon is about 35 minutes from the center Strip and Hoover Dam about 45.
Day trips that pick you up at your hotel
If you skip the rental car, these cover the desert without one.
- Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Hoover Dam Ultimate VIP Tour with Lunch
★ 4.8 (287 reviews) · 5.5 hours · from $59
Coach pickup at your hotel, and the ticket covers the power plant tour inside the dam
- Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Valley of Fire State Park with Deli Lunch Max 13 Tour
★ 4.9 (838 reviews) · 6 hours · from $99
Hotel pickup for Valley of Fire, with park entry, a deli lunch and 13 people at most
- Check availability on GetYourGuide →
Death Valley Guided Day Tour
★ 4.9 (440 reviews) · 12 hours · from $175
Pickup at your hotel for Death Valley; park entry and a breakfast buffet included
Booking through these links supports this guide at no extra cost to you.
More Las Vegas guides
Disclosure: booking links on this page go to GetYourGuide or Expedia. If you book through one, this site earns a commission at no extra cost to you. Commissions don't decide which tours are recommended or how they rank; see how tours are ranked.